AMP Awards Shortlist Unveiled

AMP Awards Shortlist Unveiled

The 2017 AMP Awards for Music + Sound has released its shortlist, and the Brooklyn-based music and sound design company Antfood tops the list of nominations, with shortlisted entries in six of the competition’s 14 categories. They were followed closely by the ad agency Droga 5, which earned shortlist status in four categories, and Yessian Music, which also earned four shortlist nominations.

All the 2017 AMP Awards shortlist entries are here.

The winners of the 2017 AMP Awards, as well as the competition’s coveted Best in Show winner, will be revealed at a gala event on May 23 at the Diamond Horseshoe in midtown Manhattan. Also being honored is Mars, Inc., which will be inducted into the AMP Hall of Fame in recognition of the marketer’s legacy of using music to help define its brands.

Antfood was recognized in Best Original Score (Commercial, All Media Platforms) for “Logo Launch” for Instagram; Best Sound Design (Commercial, Any Media Platform) for “The Innovator” for The Woolmark Company; Best Use Of Music For a Film, TV, or Game Promo/Trailer for “The Spectacle of the Real” for David Blaine; Best Execution of a Sonic Logo/ID (All Media Platforms) for “Mess with your Senses” for PepsiCo’s Mirinda soft drink; and in both the Best Use of Music and Sound In Experiential/Events and Most Innovative Process & Execution for “Hieratic Gaze” for HP.

Droga5’s shortlist nominations include “MailShrimp” for MailChimp in Best Original Song (Commercial, All Media Platforms), with music by Ricall; “Tributes by You, Phone by Google” for Google Pixel in Outstanding Adaptation/Arrangement (All Media Platforms) which features an adaptation of Prince’s “Nothing Compares 2 U” by such artists as Sampha, Brandi Carlile and John McCauley and Jenn Wasner, , as well as user submissions; “Made by Google,” also for Google Pixel, in Most Effective Use Of Music In A Campaign (All Media Platforms), which includes the Prince cover, as well as an a cappella version of “Just the Two of Us” and a licensed track from the artist Anderson .Paak; and “VeilHymn” for MailChimp in Best Band+Brand Partnership, featuring Devonté Hynes and Bryndon Cook (aka VeilHymn).

Yessian Music’s four shortlisted nominations include “360 Space Hotel Tour” for Cisco Spark in Best Use of Music and Sound in VR/360° Marketing; “Unleash Your Potential” for Infiniti in Best Use of Music and Sound in Experiential/Events; “Wings Over Washington” for Pier 57 - Miner's Landing in the same category; and “Cord” for Lincoln Motor Co., featuring Gary Clark, Jr., in Best Band+Brand Partnership.

Three companies earned three shortlisted nominations each: COPILOT Music + Sound, JSM Music and Pollen Music Group.

COPILOT’S shortlisted entries include “Nuka World Official Trailer” for Bethesda Softworks in Best Original Song (Commercial, All Media Platforms) and Best Use of Music for a Film, TV or Game Promo/Trailer. In the latter category, COPILOT earned a nomination for “Dishonored 2 Official E3 Gameplay Trailer,” also for Bethesda Softworks.

JSM Music’s entries include “Rise to the Occasion Anthem” for DiGiorno in Best Original Song (Commercial, All Media Platforms); “Love Your Nature” for Burt’s Bees in Most Effective Use of Music in A Campaign (All Media Platforms) and for LetGo in Best Execution of a Sonic Logo/ID (All Media Platforms).

Pollen’s shortlist entries were all for the same project: “Pearl,” for Google/ATAP (Advanced Technology and Products), placed in the categories for Best Original Song (Commercial, All Media Platforms), Best Use of Music and Sound in VR/360° Marketing and Most Innovative Process & Execution.

Nine companies had two shortlisted entries in the competition: ABKCO Music & Records, Future Perfect, Human, peermusic, Sonic Union, Sound Lounge, Sticky Audio Labs, Storefront Music and TBWA Media Arts Lab.

This was the first year the AMP Awards tapped a curatorial committee of agency creatives and music producers to review the top-scoring entries in each category and determine which merited shortlist status. The committee also selected category winners and voted on the competition’s Best in Show winner.